Important out-of-band security updates January 2018

Thursday, January 4, 2018

You'll likely have read about the Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities released yesterday January 3 (if not, please see here:  https://spectreattack.com ) and as a result we have an urgent security patching session lined up.

We can only release as fast as vendors make patches available to us, and additional patching may be required as additional mitigation methods emerge over time, however we believe it's important to respond promptly and minimize the risks.  So far the program looks like this:


Legacy FrontPage system:               Friday January 5 04:00 PST [complete]
Failover DNS system:                      Friday January 5 10:00 PST [complete]

London shared Windows hosting:      Friday January 5 14:00 PST (22:00 GMT) [complete]
London shared Linux hosting:           Friday January 5 15:00 PST (23:00 GMT) [complete]
London dedicated servers:                Friday January 5 15:00 PST (23:00 GMT) [complete]

US shared Windows hosting:             Friday January 5 22:00 PST [complete]
US shared Linux hosting:                  Waiting on developers, first kernel patches expected Saturday 6th January [partial, in progress]
US dedicated servers:                       OS dependent, working with users to schedule [complete]               
US legacy shared Windows hosting:   To be determined, migration from this system is already ongoing

While we have the ability to hot-patch many parts of our sytems, these important updates require patches to both underlying firmware and operating system and in most cases do require a reboot, so expect 3-5 minutes of downtime approximately at the specified time.  If you have any questions or concerns please raise them in a support ticket and we'll be glad to help.

Although less serious, these potential vulnerabilities will probably apply to your own equipment also, so do check into Windows Update or the Mac App Store Updates section to make sure you get these updates as soon as they are available to you, likewise with your browsers and mobile devices.

« Back